By browsing this site you accept cookies used to improve and personalise our services and marketing. Read our updated privacy policy for more about how we use your data.


Martin Walsh, Surf Life Saving Foundation Investment Committee Membe

Martin Walsh

Martin Walsh is the Chairman of The Surf Life Saving Foundation and an Independent Director of Surf Life Saving Australia Limited. He is a member of Lorne SLSC and Life Member of Life Saving Victoria. He is also a previous Director of LSV. Professionally, Martin is a Non-Executive Director and Consultant. Previously a Partner of Deloitte and Ernst & Young, he is a currently a Director of Hastings Funds Management Limited, the IOOF Superannuation entities, and the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, a Fellow of the Governance Institute, and a Graduate Member of the Institute of Company Directors.

Peter George, Surf Life Saving Foundation Investment Committee Member

Peter George AM

Peter has been GM Corporate Services at Surf Life Saving Australia for approximately seven years. Peter has extensive senior executive experience in project and financial management within the finance and not for profit industries, focusing on providing strategic insight into supply chain management and cost control. His 40 years’ experience within the finance industry includes Westpac Banking Corporation (Westpac), Australian Guarantee Corporation and State Bank of South Australia. Peter has had a long and proud association with Surf Life Saving in Australia extending 50 years. During this time he has served the organisation as a Director (Lifesaving) for 12 years and chaired the Finance, Audit and Compliance Committee for 9 years.

Christine Hopton, Surf Life Saving Foundation Investment Committee Member

Christine Hopton OAM

Christine has an extensive media background having worked in the newspaper and television industries, public relations, marketing and communications for more than 30 years. Christine has been involved in Surf Life Saving for over 15 years, joining as a Nipper parent and holding positions on the Avalon Beach SLSC junior committee before gaining her Bronze Medallion in 2000. Christine received an OAM as part of the Governor-General’s Australia Day Honours List in 2017 and is currently in her eighth term as President of Avalon Beach SLSC.

Graham Ford, Surf Life Saving

Graham Ford AM

Graham was elected as President of SLSA in 2010. He brings to this role a wealth of Surf Life Saving knowledge, coupled with a strong business background. Graham is a life member of Bronte SLSC and President of the International Life Saving Federation and has held many senior roles at club, branch and national levels. In 2016 Graham was made a Member of the Order of Australia for his services to Surf Life Saving. Graham is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Romilly Madew

Romilly Madew

Romilly Madew is one of Australia’s most cutting-edge female leaders, as well as President and Patrol Captain of Bilgola Beach Surf Life Saving Club. The Green Building Council of Australia’s CEO has a tremendous amount of innovative corporate expertise to share with a cause that’s incredibly close to her heart.  She has been named among both the Australian Financial Reviews’ True Leaders, and Vogue Australia’s 2018 Game Changers. She competes in Ocean swims and other charity walks and runs.

Darrin Bragg

Darrin Bragg

Darrin has been part of the surf lifesaving movement since he joined as a nipper more than 42 years ago. Having spent most of his life in North Queensland, the respected Townsville-based accountant has been a member of the Townsville Picnic Bay Surf Life Saving Club for more than 20 years. He is now their President.  Prior to that, Mr Bragg had held positions as Treasurer and Club Captain with both the Mackay and Townsville Picnic Bay Surf Life Saving Clubs. Darrin is a Life Member of both Surf Life Saving Queensland and the North Barrier Surf Life Saving Branches. He has also previously served as a Board Member for Surf Life Saving Queensland.